Australian Embassy
Federated States of Micronesia

Study in Australia and Scholarships

Applying for an Australia Awards scholarship

Application dates

For study commencing in Australia and Pacific in 2025:

Opening date: 1 February 2024  

Closing date: 30 April 2024 (11:59PM AEST)

All applications must be lodged online through OASIS at


Australia Awards scholarships in the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM)

Australia’s international development assistance in the FSM helps promote prosperity, reduce poverty, and enhance political stability.

Australia Awards scholarships are prestigious international awards offered by the Australian Government to the next generation of global leaders in developing countries. Through study and research, recipients develop the skills and knowledge to drive change and help build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

Applicants are assessed on their professional and personal qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, their potential to impact on development challenges in eligible countries.

Applications are strongly encouraged from women, people with disability and other marginalised groups.

There are two types of scholarship offered by the Embassy:

  1. Australia Awards Scholarship (AAS) is offered for postgraduate studies to any Australian university.

  2. Australia Awards Pacific Scholarship (AAPS) is offered for undergraduate and postgraduate studies at Pacific institutions such as the University of the South Pacific, Fiji National University and the University of Papua New Guinea.

Minimum Requirements for Applicants for AAS:

  • be a FSM citizen

  • have attained a Bachelor’s degree with an average GPA 3.0

  • At least 2-3 years working experience

Minimum Requirements for Applicants for AAPS:

Undergraduate Study Program

  • be a FSM citizen

  • have attained an Associate Degree with an average GPA 3.0

Postgraduate Study Program

  • be a FSM citizen

  • have attained Bachelor’s degree with an average GPA 3.0

  • At least 2-3 years working experience

Priority fields of study

The priority areas of study for FSM citizens are:

  • *NEW* Bachelor’s degree for Aviation Management

  • Health

  • International Law (Legal and Justice Studies) and International Relations

  • Education

  • Environmental Studies

  • Agriculture and Food Security

  • Marine Studies and Natural Resource Management

  • Tourism

  • Economics (development planning and international trade)

  • Information and Technology

  • Engineering

  • Business Administration (accounting and financial management).


More general information about the Australia Awards, Australia’s aid program, and studying in Australia can be found at the following links:


OR, email us at [email protected]